• Decrease Font Size
  • Default Font Size
  • Increase Font Size
  • 繁體版
  • 简体版
  • Text Only
Home > Licence Application > Introduction

Licence Application

Licence Application Image
  • Lead safe for storing radioactive sources used in hospitals
  • Transport Label on vehicle for conveyance of radioactive substances
  • Radiotherapy Treatment Unit

Introduction

The import, export, possession and use of radioactive substances and irradiating apparatus are controlled by the Radiation Ordinance (Cap 303), Laws of Hong Kong. The Radiation Board is established for the purposes of the Ordinance.

Applications for licences to manufacture, produce, sell, deal in or with, possess or use radioactive substances or irradiating apparatus should be submitted to the Radiation Board Licensing Office. Depending on the complexity of the case and with timely submission of the necessary documents by the applicant, a licence may be granted in 8 week's time. All licences are valid for 12 months with effect from the date of grant or renewal thereof or for such lesser period as may be specified in the licence.

The Board will process two types of licences, namely the Radioactive Substances Licence and the Irradiating Apparatus Licence. Definitions of radioactive substance and irradiating apparatus are set out below for reference:

Definition of Radioactive Substance

Radioactive substance refers to any substance which consists of or contains any radioactive chemical element whether natural or artificial and whose specific activity exceeds 75 becquerels of parent radioactive chemical element per gram of substance.

Definition of Irradiating Apparatus

Irradiating apparatus refers to any apparatus which is intended to produce or emit ionizing radiation; or is capable of producing or emitting ionizing radiation at a dose rate exceeding 5 µSv/h at a distance of 5 cm from any accessible point of the surface of the apparatus.

Back To Top

• 缩小文字
  • 预设文字大小
  • 放大文字
  • English Version
  • 繁體版
  • 纯文字
主页 > 牌照申请 > 引言

牌照申请

牌照申请

引言

放射性物质和辐照仪器的进口、出口、管有和使用受香港法例第303章《辐射条例》管制。辐射管理局是为施行该条例而设立。

申请有关制造、生产、出售、经营或处理、管有或使用放射性物质或辐照仪器的牌照,应提交予辐射管理局牌照事务处。根据个案的复杂程度和申请人是否准时提交所需申请文件,管理局可在8个星期内发出牌照。所有牌照的有效期为牌照发出或续期生效日起计12个月,或牌照上订明的较短期间。

管理局处理的牌照主要有两类,分别是放射性物质牌照辐照仪器牌照放射性物质和辐照仪器的定义载列如下,以供参考:

放射性物质的定义

放射性物质指由任何天然或人工的放射性化学元素组成的任何物质,或包含该等元素的任何物质,而其放射性比度,以每克物质计算,超逾75贝克勒尔的源放射性化学元素。

辐照仪器的定义

辐照仪器指任何拟用以产生或发射电离辐射的仪器;或能够以超逾每小时5微希(以距离仪器表面任何接触点5厘米计算)的剂量率产生或发射电离辐射的仪器。

返回页首